top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureClexdigital

Capturing the 2019 Lunar Eclipse

Updated: Feb 8, 2019


This January 21st, 2019 was a very hectic Sunday for me. That day was supposed to be a relaxing day with the night coming to a wonderful end as I photograph my first ever Lunar Eclipse; witnessing my first ever Lunar Eclipse as well. But alas, I also had a big project due that night at 10:00PM for one of my classes, and me being me, I didn't start it until that Sunday. So instead of a relaxing time getting ready for a cold, beautiful night, I stressed and rushed through my project (which I ended up getting an 89% on!) to try to finish before totality came and passed. As I was in my room (the Building, Cassat, pictured here), I had a good view of the moon through most of its phases, which was very nice as I didn't have to be out in the cold to get those pictures. Unfortunately, I the double pane window glass made clear imaging difficult; the moon would have a ghost effect that proved difficult to deal with in post-production. As I turned in my project (6m 45s late...sorry, Prof!), I rushed out as fast as I could with my camera gear to photograph this once in a 2-year event! I don't know if it is actually once every 2 years but I do know that the next one is in 2021. In hindsight, I should not have gone out in such a rush. Doing so created a lot of problems for me: I didn't dress as warmly as I should have, I left my extra batteries and SD cards behind, and most atrociously, I accidentally broke my camera's intervalometer. But none of those things stopped me from doing what I had anticipated doing all weekend!


When I first arrived at Bell Field, I set up my Sony a6000 with my Sony 18-105mm f/4 G Master lens. I chose this lens because of its long reach (the longest lens I own). Especially when combined with Sony's ClearImageZoom®, I had an effective zoom of 210mm. With this, I had pointed my camera at the moon, set my manual focus, and used a timelapse app I had downloaded onto my camera.


After my Sony started taking pictures, it was time for me to set up a second camera. I borrowed a camera from my school's checkout center: a Canon 70D with an 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6. I had set up my StarTracker Pro on my school's much more sturdy Manfrotto tripod. I barely had any view of Polaris (which is needed to properly set up the StarTracker Pro) but I was able to manage okay a few feet farther away from my main setup. This is the point where my haste had affected me, I did not have an SD Card for this camera. I texted my girlfriend to bring me one when she had finished with her homework, so it was a while before that camera was of any use.


Until then, I had periodically (every 7-10 minutes or so) readjusted my Sony Camera position to keep the moon in frame. As soon as I got the SD Card, I started to use the Canon at 135mm. I could not figure out how to do a timelapse with this camera meaning I needed to take every photo manually. This did not help with camera shake at all nor with the warmth of my fingers. All-in-all, I ended up taking about 1900 photos (about 1700 more photos than I probably needed in all honesty).

 

Here's how the process for the image above went (the wide shot of Cassat with the stages of the moon behind).


Settings:

  • Camera: Sony a6000

  • Lens: Sony 18-105mm f/4 G Master, Sigma 16mm f/1.4

  • Tracker: None

  • Exif (Pre-Totatlity Moons): 1/200second, ISO 100, f/5, 210mm (105 digitally zoomed 2x)

  • Exif (Totality Moon): 1s, ISO 3200, f/4, 210mm (105 digitally zoomed 2x)

  • Exif (Building): 2s, ISO 100, f/1.7 (16mm), 9:40PM Jan 25th, 2019

  • Total Number of Images: Many


Post-Production:

I did basic adjustments in Lightroom (exposure, contrast, curves, white balance for the building) and exported the JPEG files as JPEG. The process was similar for each of the moon phases. I opened the specific moon phase JPEGs into Affinity Photo and created a Live Stack of the (I don't recall how many photos per moon phase I used) photos; I had the same problem with alignment in Affinity Photo as before so I manually aligned the photos. From there, I masked the Live Stack to show only the moon. I repeated the process until I had each of my moon phases as their own moon JPEG. I opened the Cassat Building photo in Affinity Photo and I added each phase of the moon. I honestly was not sure what the position of the moons should be so I arbitrarily put them where you see them now. I had tested a few different positions out with the moons being a few different sizes but those looked "too fake" for my liking. I made the moons smaller than I had hoped they could be but the reduction in size made them look more "realistic." Finally, I added a curves adjustment to make the moons a bit darker, and exported it to the image you see.

 

Here's how the process for the image below went (the moon at totality with a starry background):


Settings:

  • Camera: Canon 70D

  • Lens: Canon 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6

  • Tracker: iOptron SkyTracker Pro

  • EXIF: 4s, ISO 800, f/5.6,128mm, 11:28PM

  • Total Number of Images: 11


Post-Production:

I did basic adjustments in Lightroom (exposure, contrast, curves) and exported the CR2 files as JPEG. I then opened the files into Affinity Photo and created a Live Stack of the 11 photos; unfortunately, the automatic alignment of Affinity Photo did not do well so I had to manually align each photo (only 11 so not too bad). From there, I masked the Live Stack to show only the moon and set its blend mode to Minimum. I selected one of the 11 photos (arbitrarily) to use as the background for the stars. I added a curves and levels adjustment to bring out the stars more and make the blacks blacker. Then saved and exported to the image you see below.







24 views0 comments
bottom of page