top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureClexdigital

Anker USB 3.0 7-Port Hub Review

Updated: Mar 21, 2019


EDIT: You can watch a video version of this review down below.



This is a review of this Anker Product; at the time of my purchase, it cost $29.99 and had 4-Star review.


Overall: I WOULD recommend this product.


Background/Use:

My use of this product is as a college student with a Macbook Pro 13" 2015 (Base Model). I use this product with

  • WesternDigital EasyStore 4tb

  • WesternDigital My Passport Wireless Pro 4tb

  • Lexar 16gb Flashdrive

  • Lexar 32gb Flashdrive

  • 1 Micro-USB as a speaker charger

I keep my USB hub continually plugged into the power cable into the wall.


Review:

I needed a powered usb hub to be able to connect both of my hard drives at once. My Macbook has two usb ports but one is perpetually used with a 128gb flashdrive that I seldom remove and I dislike very much connecting a hard drive directly to my computer for fear of moving the hard drive too much and potentially scratching the disk (not a common occurrence but I prefer to be safe). Once I got it, I just plugged in my other two flashdrives for convenience.


Performance:

This hub performs exceptionally well. With 4 data drives plugged in plus a powered micro-usb cable, the performance of the hub has not faltered yet. The speeds I get with this hub are nothing less than expected with a USB 3.0 hub. I am constantly backing my computer and two other drives using TimeMachine and I am importing pictures from my SD Card slot to my external hard drive and I have not noticed any slow speeds.


Pros:

  • 7 Ports

  • USB 3.0

  • Can power at least 2 hard drives plugged in

  • Can power my speaker attached

  • Aluminum Body has premium feel

Cons:

  • (According to Manual when plugged into wall) Can only support a combined power output of 3A

  • Meaning: No phone/tablet/watch charging

  • USB Cable that connects to computer is hardwired to the USB Hub, I wish it was removable so I could use my own, longer cable

  • USB cable is only 1.3feet



118 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page